Last night I went to watch my first ever basketball game, which was Leeds a Force v Manchester Giants in the BBL Cup.

The British Basketball League is a professional sports league, which not many people know, sot that makes it great value for money. With a free programme to boot, with a couple of features and round-ups in, it was a great start to the evening. With food and merchandise added in, I have to say it is a really professional set up. In your seats you feel really close to the action and the atmosphere was top-draw, added to by the Manchester fans.

Onto the match, and I certainly picked a great match to start with, as Leeds Force delivered their first BBL win. I immediately drew a liking to Guard Mario Diez, who reminded me of a basketball version of Xabi Alonso. Leeds Force were down 41-34 at half-time, but fought back brilliantly in the second, with James McCann leading the fightback with 21 points.

Overall, it was a great evening and it got my and my family hooked. We’ll definitely be going back!

