With the Premier League taking centre stage while people around the country opened the second doors on their advent calendars, non-league action was on the table at Throstle Nest where Farsley AFC took on Curzon Ashton in round two of the Doodson Sport Cup.

Neither side managed to carve clear openings in the opening quarter of an hour but the first chance fell to Curzon when Luke Horrocks passed to Remeo Coley who’s effort was well saved by Tom Taylor. Curzon then took the lead when Jonathan Hunt headed in at the near post. Farsley almost responded just before the half hour mark when O’Brien slipped in Adam Priestley who fired inches wide. Just moments later Nightingale rattled the cross bar with a curling free-kick from 25 yards out.

Curzon doubled their lead on the hour mark when Taylor parried Simon Lakeland’s free-kick straight to the feet of Remeo Coley who tapped home. Farsley almost got a goal back when a Kyle Hancock cross was headed wide by Adam Priestley. Farsley got back in the game when Michael Aspin delivered a cross from deep, and Kyle Hancock headed home. With less than ten minutes remaining Farsley pulled off the comeback when Adam Priestley nipped in behind the defence and slotted under Curzon keeper Cameron Mason.

Under cup rules there was no extra time and the game proceeded straight to the dreaded penalty shootout. Both teams scored their first, however Curzon missed their second giving Farsley the upper hand. Preistley failed to take advantage, however Darren Thornton blasted over to give the momentum back to Farsley. Both sides scored their next two to make it 3-3 with Farsley having the chance to win it. Spencer Harris stepped up and blasted home to give Farsley a cup upset as they progressed to the third round of the Doodson Sports Cup.

Farsley AFC: Taylor, Aspin, Grant, O’Brien (c), Dempsey (Pankhurst 66), Harris, Nightingale, Daly (Savory 89), Priestley, Morgan, Hancock. Unused subs: Riley, Cromack, Lofthouse (GK).

Curzon Ashton: Burton (Mason 46), Lakeland, Thornton, Fitzgerald, Hunt (c), Shaw, Horrocks (Green 23), Coley, McMahon, Watson, Rowney. Unused subs: Walker, Cummins.

MOTM: Adam Priestley