On Friday night AFC Liverpool stunned Radcliffe Borough to come from two Tom Hulme goals behind to win 3-2, Ryan Cox firing home the 90th minute winner.

This was something of a trend as many Evo-Stik Northern division sides lost their FA Cup place to lower ranked opposition. Ossett Town’s Nick Wood scored the only goal of the game, however it was in the wrong net as AFC Blackpool triumphed. Ben Jevons and Nicky Anslow secured a comfortable 2-0 for AFC Wulfrunians as they defeated Romulus 2-0, and Abbey Hey stunned last year’s giant killers Warrington Town. Samuel Hind put Abbey Hey ahead before Carig Robinson and Steven Gillespie scored twice in the space of a minute to give Warrington the lead. Ashford Blake then equalised before a James McCarten own goal put Abbey Hey through to the first qualifying round of the FA Cup. 

Alsager Town defeated Shaw Lane Aquaforce thanks to two early goals from Jack Chadwick and Jonathan Crane, before Lee Morris scored to give Shaw Lane hope, however they failed to take their chances and exited the FA Cup at the first time of asking. Armthorpe Welfare defeated New Mills 1-0 thanks to a Joe Lumsden goal, and Brighouse were held to a draw by Atherton Collieries. At last a win for one of our sides, and this came courtesy of Droylsden’s win away to Barton Old Boys, James Hampson and Stephen Hall scoring in response to Ashley Latimore’s opener. 

Elsewhere Burscough defeated AFC Emley 3-1, Shepshed Dynamo won an all Evo-Stik affair with Carlton Town and Chasetown defeated Evesham 2-0 thanks to late goals from Nathaniel Waite and Richard Davies.