Farsley Celtic put in a clinical display to dispatch of Prescot Cables 4-0 to progress to the FA Trophy first qualifying round, where they will face the winner of Sunday’s game between Shaw Lane Aquaforce and New Mills.

Farsley started the better and carved out their first opportunity when Robbie O’Brien played through Lewis Nightingale who’s rasping shot crashed against the bar. Moments later a perfectly weighted through ball from O’Brien was finessed from the edge of the box into the bottom corner by Paul Walker to give Celtic the lead. Just before the half hour mark Phil Bannister almost levelled the score as his effort was turned around the post by ‘keeper Tom Taylor. Prescot ‘keeper Marcus Burgess made a great save to keep the score at 1-0, as he denied Lewis Nightingale who had been played in by Walker. Shortly before halftime Rob Doran came closest for Prescot as his audacious half volley from all of 30 yards thumped against the bar.

Farsley eventually doubled their lead midway through the second half when Lewis Nightingale’s slide rule pass found O’Brien who slotted home. Minutes later Celts substitute Leon Osbourne had a glorious chance when he received the ball from Walker, however he blazed way over the bar from ten yards out. Farley continued to dominate and Osbourne carved out another opportunity as he played in Paul Walker, who’s shot was well saved by Burgess. However Farsley found the third goal shortly afterwards as Aaron Hardy’s low cross was parried by Burgess straight to the feet of Walker who made no mistake from close range. Prescot did conjure up another chance however Celtic ‘keeper Taylor was equal to George Lomax’s effort. With the last action of the game Leon Osbourne made it four as he tucked away Walker’s cross into the back of the net.

Farsley Celtic: Taylor, Hardy, Grant, O’Brien (c) (Hancock 83), Miller, Harrison (Riley 53), Nightingale, Daly, Walker, Lewis (Osbourne 46), Stevens. Unused subs: Sugden, Lofthouse (GK).

Prescot Cables: Burgess, Flood, Mannion (George Lomax 68), Herbert, O’Reilly, Kirkbride, Bannister (Evans 58), McCulloch (c), Doran, Dean, Nicholson. Unused subs: Nicholson, Hayes, Garner.

MOTM: Paul Walker

Attendance: 115