It has already been a memorable season for the Farsley Celtic striker who re-joined the club in the summer, breaking records, scoring sensational goals and being on the shortlist for the Evo-Stik League Player Of The Season award.

On being shortlisted for the award, The Celtic frontman said how he was overjoyed at the news.

“I’m delighted. There’s some very good players in the Evo-Stik league and it is an honour to be on that list, however I wouldn’t be in this position if it wasn’t for the team as a whole. We’ve had some solid performances and every man in the squad has played their part so far. We now have to go out and finish our main goal. It’d be nice to win the award and I’d like to thank the supporters beforehand who take their time out and vote.”

Being shortlisted for the award has largely been down to the amount of goal James Walshaw has scored, which totals 41 to date. On the way to that mark, Walshaw surpassed Ben Jones’ tally of 35 from 2010/11, which set a new record for most goals scored in a season for the Celtic club and he discussed breaking the record.

“It’s always nice to break records and I’m going to try my best to make that record harder to beat come the end of the season. I’m enjoying my football at the moment and the lads are creating the chances which makes my job a lot easier!”

Talking about goals, everyone has been talking about Walshaw’s sensational volley against Colne.

“I’ve had a few people ask me about that goal as they’ve seen it on social media. It was a nice finish with my weaker foot but I preferred my 2nd goal in that game. It’s a tough place to go to is Colne and we were drawing 2-2. Azza (Aaron Hardy) put a great ball in and I managed to direct it into the corner which earned us 3 points.”

The Striker also looked ahead to the rest of the season, including April’s West Riding County Cup final.

“Personally and collectively our main aim is promotion. It’s going to be a big ask with all the games we have to play but we are certainly capable and it will be a big achievement if we manage to pull it off. The management are rotating the squad and are doing a great job of keeping everyone fresh.”

“It’s always nice to be in a final and we’ll concentrate on that game when it comes but at the moment we have to take each it game as it comes and focus on Hyde.”

With the focus on Saturday’s trip, the 41 goal forward gave his thoughts on the upcoming game.

“Saturday is going to be really tough. Hyde have brought a few players in and are on a great run, they beat my former club Altrincham not so long back and I’m expecting a tough game. Having said that, the match will be played on an artificial surface which will suit our passing game and I am very confident we can get a positive result.”

